homepage   sevenstring guitars   sevenstring registry   photo gallery   subscription   spy 
Sevenstring.org - The Seven String Guitar Authority
Go Back   SevenString.org > Music Discussion > Drums & Percussion
LIKE SS.org on Facebook FOLLOW SS.org on Twitter

Drums & Percussion Drums, programming and all other percussion related discussion here.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Unread 11-03-2010, 04:57 AM   #1
ss.org Regular

bigreddestroyer will become famous soon enough
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Practice drum sets

Alright guys, just wondering what your opinion was on practice drum sets, more specifically, something like this one.

Practice Drum Kit With 'Mesh' Heads. Low Reserve on eBay (end time 05-Nov-10 19:20:16 GMT)

As A guitarist, I want to start learning drums for a lot of reasons, but living in a top floor flat, I can't exactly have a full kit. So do people find these useful, are they any good, or is it ust as good to get a couple of pots, pans and pillows and practice with them instead?
bigreddestroyer is offline   Reply With Quote
Alt Today
Seven String

Beitrag Sponsored Links

Unread 11-03-2010, 04:23 PM   #2
I play drums!

SYLrules88 is just really niceSYLrules88 is just really nice
Feedback Score: 4 reviews
it seems like every time i watch a bands behind the scenes DVD, there's footage of the drummer warming up on a set that looks like that. Chris Adler from LoG recommends practicing often on a mesh head kit. so these are very good practicing tools.

however i dont know if this is the best tool for learning drums as you wont be learning exactly how and where you need to hit the drums to get sound(s) you desire. Unless you're in a band that has a rehearsal space where you could get some time on real drums a few days a week at least?