homepage   sevenstring guitars   sevenstring registry   photo gallery   subscription   spy 
Sevenstring.org - The Seven String Guitar Authority
Go Back   SevenString.org > Music Discussion > Beginners/FAQ
LIKE SS.org on Facebook FOLLOW SS.org on Twitter

Beginners/FAQ For you new players out there. Any question is a good one, so ask away.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Unread 06-22-2012, 01:04 PM   #1
ss.org Regular

nic0us will become famous soon enough
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Getting first seven string

Sorry if this post isn't in right section or anything like that, I'm a newbie here.

Anyways, I'm going to buy my first seven string guitar. I decided to pick up ESP-LTD H-1007 (This one: The ESP Guitar Company | 2012 USA Website).

Now I have been looking for string gauge which could handle drop A tuning. Here are some stringsets I have been looking for(Sorry those pages are in finnish, but at least you will see the gauge).

Daddario EXL110-7 - Thomann Verkkokauppa

Ernie Ball EB-2620 - Thomann Verkkokauppa

Strings.fi - Elgitarrsträngar - DR EH7-11 Custom Tite-Fit 7 String

Are these stringsets too loose for drop A? What gauges you guys are using in drop A?
nic0us is offline   Reply With Quote
Alt Today
Seven String

Beitrag Sponsored Links

Unread 06-22-2012, 01:13 PM   #2
Dread-I Master

Konfyouzd is deemed true.Konfyouzd is deemed true.Konfyouzd is deemed true.Konfyouzd is deemed true.Konfyouzd is deemed true.Konfyouzd is deemed true.Konfyouzd is deemed true.Konfyouzd is deemed true.Konfyouzd is deemed true.Konfyouzd is deemed true.Konfyouzd is deemed true.Konfyouzd is deemed true.
Feedback Score: 10 reviews
Most ppl use something close to a .60 for A @ 25.5". Some go as high as like... .68 - .70? It really all depends on what tension feels best to you.

Konfyouzd is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 06-22-2012, 02:10 PM   #3
Needs more strings