homepage   sevenstring guitars   sevenstring registry   photo gallery   subscription   spy 
Sevenstring.org - The Seven String Guitar Authority
Go Back   SevenString.org > Music Discussion > Beginners/FAQ
LIKE SS.org on Facebook FOLLOW SS.org on Twitter

Beginners/FAQ For you new players out there. Any question is a good one, so ask away.

Like Tree6Likes
  • 1 Post By shredguitar7690
  • 1 Post By MaxOfMetal
  • 3 Post By Randy
  • 1 Post By Stealthdjentstic

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Unread 11-11-2011, 01:52 AM   #1
ss.org Regular

AlgidInferno is on a distinguished road
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Generic "Which 8-string under $1000?" thread...

Hey. Newbie here. Sorry if this is in the wrong section...

Anyway, I've been really interested in 8 string guitars. There don't seem to be too many affordable ones (at least for a broke-ass college kid), but of the ones out there, does anyone have a recommendation?

The only mandatory specs are a 27" scale and fixed bridge. I play a 27" 7 string, it feels great and I really don't think I could live with anything longer. Oh, and I'd like to keep it under $1000 USD. Preferably less, like maybe half that much if possible.

The Schecter C-8 has caught my eye, but I've heard that they "suck"...? I'm also familiar with Agile, my 7 is made by them, but I'm really drawn to their Intrepid models, which only seem to come in 25" and 28". I'd assume 25" would make the low string too "flubby", and 28" would inhibit playing on the higher strings. I break my high e often enough on my 27" 7 string, I can't see how 28 would make that any better.

Honestly I'd love to just grab one of these* and be done with it, but my OCD isn't cool with that extra inch, at least not right now. Does it make that much of a difference? If it isn't noticeable, I might go with it...
*(Agile Intrepid 828 MN Ocean Burst at RondoMusic.com)